GSMC faculty to chair Caine Prize for African Writing 2019 judges panel

GSMC faculty to chair Caine Prize for African Writing 2019 judges panel

Dr. Peter Kimani, Faculty,  Aga Khan University Graduate School of Media and Communications (GSMC) will serve as the Chair of Judges  for the 2019 Caine Prize for African Writing. Dr. Kimani, is an acclaimed author whose 2017 novel Dance of the Jakaranda was named as a New York Times Notable Book of the Year, and was nominated for the 2018 Hurston-Wright Legacy Awards. He will be joined on the judging panel by Sefi Atta, Nigerian author and playwright shortlisted for the 2006 Caine Prize; Margie Orford, acclaimed author hailed as the “queen of South African crime-thriller writers”; Olufemi Terry, Sierra Leone-born author and winner of the 2010 Caine Prize; and Scott Taylor, professor and director of the African Studies Program at Georgetown University, USA.

Commenting on the 2019 panel, Chair of the Caine Prize, Dr Delia Jarrett-Macauley, said, “We are privileged to benefit from such an esteemed panel of judges, and it is fitting that they will have the honour of deciding the winner of the 20th Caine Prize. I am sure Peter Kimani will make an excellent Chair, and I wish all the judges every success in deciding our shortlist in 2019”.

The panel brings a wealth of experience to the judging process, as outlined below:

2019 Judges Bios.jpg

Full biographies of each judge can be found  HERE.

The Caine Prize, awarded annually for African creative writing, is named after the late Sir Michael Caine, former Chairman of Booker plc and Chairman of the Booker Prize management committee for nearly 25 years. For more information on the Caine Prize, click HERE.