Dr. Nancy Booker: Ethics have to be at the core of Journalism Practice

Dr. Nancy Booker: Ethics have to be at the core of Journalism Practice

Dr. Nancy Booker speaks during the convention to mark the World Press Freedom Day celebrations in Kenya


Dr. Nancy Booker, faculty at the Aga Khan University Graduate School of Media and Communications and Chief Judge, AJEA 2017, urged journalists during the 2017 Annual Journalism Excellence Awards (AJEA) to let ethical principles guide their work.  She indicated that some of the entries submitted for award consideration were disqualified as they went against ethical principles. Some of the entries exposed victims of sexual violence, named and identified children, intruded into grief and shock and exposed innocent relatives and friends. The award ceremony honored print and broadcast journalists in 14 categories. Dr. Booker said the Media Council of Kenya (MCK) received slightly over 700 entries, a drop from 900 entries submitted last year. She said the factors used to determine winning entries included adherence to ethical principles, sourcing, relevance and impact. Dr. Booker challenged the winners to strive to excel. “Remember, you are a first among equals and that you are just as good as your last story. Winning is one thing, retaining that position is another, as there are very many good storytellers out here.”

Recognizing the changes in journalism practice today, Dr. Booker appealed to MCK to in future,  introduce entries submitted in vernacular languages and to consider multimedia entries so as to open up the space beyond the traditional media platforms.

See Dr. Booker’s full speech here.

The Annual Journalism Excellence Awards [AJEA] is one of the most prestigious awards for journalists in Kenya. AJEA seeks to recognize and award excellence in journalism, encourage professionalism in the practices of journalism as provided for by the Code of Conduct for the Practice of Journalism in Kenya and encourage Development Journalism in Kenya in line with Kenya’s Vision 2030.

See the full list of winners below:

  1. Development Reporting Award.

Leopold Obi – Daily Nation (print category)

Mashirima Kapombe and Moses Baya – KTN (TV category)

  1. ICT and Telecommunications Reporting Award.

Eunice Kilonzo – Daily Nation (print)

George Otieno – Radio Citizen (radio)

  1. Gender Reporting Award.

Vincent Achuka – Daily Nation (print)

Mercy Murengu – Upendo FM (radio)

Andrew Ochieng and Robert Gichira – NTV (TV)

  1. Environment Reporting Award.

Verah Okeyo – Daily Nation (print)

Ali Maingu – Radio Salaam (radio)

Gladys Kigo and David Kabiruh – Citizen TV (TV)

  1. Sports Reporting Award.

Isaac Swila – Daily Nation (print)

Dennis Okari and Eric Isinta – NTV (TV)

  1. Health Reporting Award.

Angela Oketch – Daily Nation (print)

Victor Moturi – Ebru TV (TV)

  1. Business Reporting Award.

Diana Wanyonyi – Baraka FM (radio)

Zeynab Wandati and Robert Gichira – NTV (TV)

  1. Good Governance Reporting Award.

Vincent Achuka – Daily Nation (print)

Joseph Jira – Baraka FM (radio)

Africa Uncensored (John-Allan Namu, Sam Munia, Elijah Kanyi, Kassim Mohamed)

  1. Media Freedom Award.

Diana Wanyonyi – Baraka FM (radio)

Francis Ontomwa, Francis Mutalaki and Edmond Oduor – KTN (TV)

  1. Photographer of the Year Award.

Phoebe Okall – Daily Nation

  1. Cartoonist of the Year.

Michael Munene – Nation Media Group

  1. Cameraperson of the Year Award.

Edwin Mwai – K24

  1. Journalist of the Year.

Africa Uncensored – (John-Allan Namu, Sam Munia, Elijah Kanyi, Kassim Mohamed)

  1. Lifetime Contribution in Journalism Award – Veteran Category.

Leonard Mambo Mbotela and Elizabeth Omollo.